Related Navigation

The Missouri Bar Recognizes “Senior Counselors”

79 Senior Counselors Honored at Missouri Bar Annual Meeting

ST. LOUIS – Seventy-nine members of The Missouri Bar were presented with the “Senior Counselor” designation last week at The Missouri Bar’s Annual Meeting. The “Senior Counselor” title is bestowed upon lawyers who have reached the age of 75 years or who have been admitted to The Missouri Bar for 50 years. The recognition ceremonies took place during the Opening Luncheon of the Annual Meeting held on Thursday, October 18, 2012, at the Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark in downtown St. Louis.

Those recognized as “Senior Counselors” are as follows:

  • Boone County attorneys James T. Ausmus of Centralia, Gary Philip Kraus of Columbia, and Larry R. Marshall of Columbia.
  • Brookfield attorney John E. Casey.
  • Camden County attorneys Larrie C. Hindman of Sunrise Beach and James D. Sickal of Lake Ozark.
  • Cape Girardeau attorney Walter S. Drusch, Jr.
  • Chesterfield attorney George L. Bude.
  • Florissant attorneys Howard T. Nelson and Ilo Henning Turner.
  • Glencoe attorney Robert L. Hartzog.
  • Illinois attorneys Richard E. Boyle of Belleville, David M. Kahn of Columbia, Joel A. Kunin of Collinsville, and Melroy B. Hutnick of Belleville.
  • Independence attorney Thomas H. Bennett.
  • Jefferson City attorneys G. Alex Bartlett, Charles J. Fraas, Jr., Michael P. Riley and Frank E. Wallemann.
  • Kansas City attorneys Robert K. Ball, II; Richard Warren Byrum; Jeremiah D. Finnegan; Lynn C. Hoover; William B. Kircher; Michael G. O’Flaherty; Joel Pelofsky; James Eugene Ramsey; Landon H. Rowland; David L. West; Jerome T. Wolf.
  • Kirksville attorney Ray E. Klinginsmith.
  • Kirkwood attorney John R. Boyce.
  • Lee’s Summit attorney Basil L. North, Jr.
  • Overland Park, Kansas attorneys Charles M. Hart, II; Hon. James E. Kelley, Jr.; Sharon R. Lowenstein; Bernard V. O’Neill, Jr.
  • Springfield attorneys Donald W. Jones and James L. Sivils, Jr.
  • St. Charles attorneys Edward C. Ahlheim and Gordon D. Prinster.
  • St. Joseph attorney Robert E. Douglass.
  • St. Louis attorneys Richard S. Avellone; George R. Beck; Norton Y. Beilenson; Edward A. Boeschenstein; John J. Cavnagh, Jr.; William L. Davis; Donald K. Gerard; James R. Hanlin; Thomas H. Lake; Ned O. Lemkemeier; Michael E. Long; Rene E. Lusser; William A. McDowell, Jr.; Michael N. Newmark; Robert L. Proost; John A. Rava; Frances F. Reisler; John K. Roedel, Jr.; Bernard A. Ruthmeyer, Jr.; Peter W. Salsich, Jr.; Jim J. Shoemake; Lawrence A. Waldman; Gerald L. Warren; David L. Zwart.
  • Stoddard County attorneys C. H. Parsons, Jr. of Dexter and Donald R. Rhodes of Bloomfield.
  • Van Buren attorney David W. Keathley.
  • Webster Groves attorney Dempster K. Holland.

For full resolution photos of those in attendance at the luncheon appearing with 2011-12 Missouri Bar President Lynn Whaley Vogel, please visit

The Missouri Bar is a statewide organization that is dedicated to improving the legal profession, the law and the administration of justice for all Missourians. Created in 1944 by order of the Supreme Court of Missouri, it serves all 30,000 of Missouri’s practicing attorneys. To achieve its mission, The Missouri Bar provides a wide range of services and resources to its members, as well as the media, educators and the citizens of Missouri. To learn more about The Missouri Bar, visit

  • MoBar Quick Info

    Organization and Purpose: The Missouri Bar is the statewide organization that all Missouri lawyers must belong to if they practice law. The Missouri Bar was created in 1944 by order of the Supreme Court of Missouri. It is considered an instrumentality of the Supreme Court of Missouri, not a private association nor a state agency. Its mission is to improve the legal profession, the administration of justice and the law on behalf of the public.

    Member Size: Currently, the bar is comprised of nearly 30,000 members.

    Staff Size: The executive director, Sebrina Barrett, supervises a staff of 50 employees. Click here to see a Staff Directory

    Budget: Approximately $10 million. No tax dollars are used to support Missouri Bar activities. Most money is derived from fees that lawyers pay, some is derived from Continuing Legal Education (CLE) programs and publications, grants and The Missouri Bar Foundation.

    Governance: The Board of Governors of The Missouri Bar determines policies and sets the course of action for the state bar to follow. The 45 members of the board are elected by bar members to represent by districts. The board elects a president, president-elect and vice president to serve as officers of the bar.

    Sections and Committees: The Missouri Bar offers more than 30 substantive law committees for its members to join. It also has two sections: a Family Law Section, and the Young Lawyers' Section.

    Location: The Missouri Bar Center is located in Jefferson City, at 326 Monroe Street.

    Missouri Bar Resources and Activities: The Missouri Bar provides a wide variety of services and resources, not only to its members, but also to the news media, school teachers and the citizens of Missouri. These include: CLE programs and publications, an Annual Meeting, a Solo and Small Firm Conference, teachers’ programs, committee meetings and extensive services for attorneys. The bar also administers a minimum continuing legal education requirement for attorneys.