Related Navigation
The Missouri Bar 2012 Solo and Small Firm Conference

Maurice Graham

Maurice B. Graham
Gray, Ritter & Graham, P.C
St. Louis

Maurice Graham concentrates his practice in the areas of complex business and commercial litigation, and catastrophic injury and death cases. He is a frequent speaker and author on litigation.

Mr. Graham was educated at Central Methodist University and the University of Missouri-Columbia, where he received his B.A. degree in 1960 and his J.D. degree in 1962.

He is admitted to practice before the United States Supreme Court and the Fifth, Eighth and Ninth Circuits of the U.S. Court of Appeals, in addition to being admitted in the federal courts of Missouri. Mr. Graham has handled cases in federal and state courts throughout Missouri and in courts in Montana, Oklahoma, Arkansas, South Carolina, Illinois, Iowa, Texas and Arizona.

Mr. Graham was a member of The Missouri Bar Board of Governors from 1980 through 1990 and President of The Missouri Bar in 1988-89. He has served on several Missouri Bar and Supreme Court task forces and committees, including co-chairing the Missouri Supreme Court Cameras in the Courtroom Task Force. He has served as a member and chairman of the Supreme Court Advisory Committee, which oversees attorney discipline in Missouri.

He is a member of The Missouri Bar, Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis and the American Bar Association. He was a member of the ABA House of Delegates from 1990-1994. He is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, the International Society of Barristers, the International Academy of Trial Lawyers, the Missouri Association of Trial Attorneys, the American Association for Justice, and the American Trial Lawyers Association.

Mr. Graham received a Special Merit Citation from the American Judicature Society in 1989 and received a Citation of Merit from the University of Missouri-Columbia Law School in 1988. In 1992, he was honored by the University of Missouri-Columbia with a Distinguished Alumni Award. He is active in University affairs, having served as President of the University of Missouri-Columbia Law School Foundation and a Trustee of the Jefferson Club. Mr. Graham served as Chairman of the University of Missouri-Columbia Law School’s $17 million endowment campaign.

Mr. Graham received the 2010 Award of Honor from The Lawyers Association of St. Louis. He is listed in The Best Lawyers in America® in the categories of Commercial Litigation, Personal Injury Litigation and Medical Malpractice Law, and is listed among the “Best Lawyers in St. Louis” in St. Louis Magazine in these same areas. He is one of 26 attorneys in Missouri to receive the Best Lawyers “2011 Bet-the-Company Litigation” designation. Graham was named the Best Lawyers 2009 Lawyer of the Year Best-the-Company Litigation - St. Louis. He has an AV Peer Review Rating from Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory, which is the highest given. He was voted as one of the top three in Missouri Lawyer’s Weekly’s “Missouri's Best Survey” in the category of Best Litigator. Mr. Graham has been selected annually to Missouri & Kansas Super Lawyers Magazine (among the top 5 percent of lawyers in Missouri and Kansas) since 2005, and cited as among the “Top 10 Attorneys” in the region. He was also named among the “Top 50 St. Louis Attorneys” in the category of Personal Injury Plaintiff-Medical Litigation by the same publication.

He received the Missouri Lawyers Weekly Lawyer of the Year Award 2001; The Missouri Bar President’s Award, 1991; Spurgeon-Smithson Award, 1994; Purcell Professionalism Award, 2000; and Pro Bono Award, 2000. He was the co-author of “Spoliation of Medical Records,” 52 J. Mo. Bar 87 (1996) (selected to receive the Oliver Rasch Award as the outstanding article of 1996); and “Hedonic Damages - Where are We?” 51 J. Mo. Bar 265 (1995).

In 2006, Mr. Graham was awarded the Distinguished Alumni Award from Central Methodist University. He served as a member of the Board of Curators of Central Methodist University, Fayette, Missouri, and is a member of the Sheldon Arts Foundation Board in St. Louis, serving as Board Chairman from 2007-2010.