Related Navigation

Roger P. Krumm Family Law Award

The Family Law Section and The Missouri Bar present an annual award to honor a family law lawyer who has demonstrated an exceptional degree of competence, skill, integrity, commitment, and dedication toward the improvement and advancement of the practice of family law and the children and families involved in family law matters. The "Roger P. Krumm Family Law Award" is given in honor of Roger Krumm, a family law attorney who possessed all of the characteristics, skills and integrity of those who receive this award.

You may use one of the following forms to make a nomination:

Nomination criteria should include:

  • Demonstrated excellence in negotiation and trial practice
  • Participation and leadership in local and statewide family law related efforts
  • Demonstrated commitment to those involved and affected by family law matters

2016 Award Winner - Alan Freed, St. Louis

Alan FreedAlan Freed has represented clients in family law cases since 1983, focusing on a problem-solving approach to resolving family law issues, with an emphasis on mediation and collaborative practice. He has practiced with Paule, Camazine & Blumenthal, PC, since its founding in 1994.

Freed is a fellow of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers and is listed in "Best Lawyers in America" and "Missouri Kansas Super Lawyers." Best Lawyers named Freed “Lawyer of the Year” for St. Louis in 2013 in the field of Collaborative Law: Family, and in 2015 for Family Law Mediation. He was also selected as “Best Mediation Attorney” in a 2009 Missouri Lawyers Weekly poll. In 2009 Freed, with Alisse Camazine, wrote "Divorce in Missouri," a practical layman's guide. Freed is a founding member of the Collaborative Family Law Association and is also a past president of Kids In the Middle. Freed is member of AFCC and an Advanced Mediator Member of Academy of Professional Family Mediators. He has presented in conferences, both locally and nationally, on family law and mediation topics. Freed is an Approved Mediator for the St. Louis County Family Court, has published numerous articles in his fields, is the author of the chapter on Mediation and Other Forms of Alternative Dispute Resolution for the MoBar Family Law CLE Deskbook, and contributed a chapter titled “Mental Health and Financial Experts: Key Components of the Collaborative Process,” in "Understanding Collaborative Family Law" (Aspatore, 2011). Freed is also co-author of “Missouri Appellate Practice” Vol. 24, 2nd, West Group. He has, since 2001, served as adjunct professor at Washington University School of Law, teaching family mediation.

Freed received his B. Mus. from Kent State University in 1974 and his J.D. from Washington University School of Law in 1983.

Past Recipients of Award

  • 2015 — F. Richard Van Pelt, Springfield
  • 2014 — Susan S. Jensen, Springfield
  • 2013 — Ann Bauer, St. Louis
  • 2012 — Patricia "Trish" Scaglia, Independence
  • 2011 — Gary L. Stamper, Columbia
  • 2010 — John S. Pratt, Jr., Springfield
  • 2009 — Larry V. Swall, Liberty
  • 2008 — Cary J. Mogerman, St. Louis
  • 2007 — Allan F. Stewart, Clayton
  • 2006 — Carla Holste, Jefferson City
  • 2005 — Karen A. Plax, Kansas City
  • 2004 — Michael J. Albano, Independence
  • 2003 — Lori J. Levine, Jefferson City