Sandra H. Johnson

Johnson, SandraSandra H. Johnson is Professor Emeritus of Law and Health Care Ethics at Saint Louis University School of Law. She served as Interim Dean of the law school twice, and was the founding director of the Center for Health Law Studies, which has been ranked as the top health law program in the nation for more than a decade. She served as Provost of Saint Louis University from 1998 to 2002.

From 2001 until her retirement, she held the Tenet chair in Health Law and Ethics, an endowed chair held jointly by the School of Law and the Center for Health Care Ethics. She also held academic appointments in the university’s School of Medicine and School of Public Health.

Professor Johnson is the co-author of the casebook Health Law: Cases, Materials and Problems, now in its sixth edition, which has been used at more than 150 universities. The casebook and its companion treatise have been cited more than 500 times in scholarly articles and judicial opinions, including several times by the U.S. Supreme Court. She has also written numerous articles on health law and bioethics. She served for 10 years as the director of the Mayday Project on Legal and Regulatory Issues in Pain Management, focusing on research and advocacy on public policy.

She has been quoted on health policy issues by several national news outlets, including the New York Times, USA Today, and National Public Radio’s Talk of the Nation. She has received numerous awards for her work, including being named “Woman of the Year” by Saint Louis University and by Missouri Lawyers Weekly, and Health Law Teacher of the Year by the American Society of Law, Medicine & Ethics.

Professor Johnson is currently in her second term as chair of the board of the Missouri Health Connection, a non-profit partnering with the State of Missouri to develop a statewide exchange for electronic medical records for patient care. She also serves on the boards of the Alexian Brothers Senior Ministries and the Aquinas Institute. She served for several years on The Missouri Bar’s long-range planning committee and its annual meeting planning committee, and worked actively on legislation supported by The Missouri Bar.