The Missouri Bar Recognizes "Senior Counselors"

116 Senior Counselors Honored at Missouri Bar Annual Meeting

JEFFERSON CITY, MO – More than 100 attorneys from across Missouri and the nation were honored last month as “Senior Counselors” of The Missouri Bar. The “Senior Counselor” title is bestowed upon lawyers who have reached the age of 75 years or who have been admitted to The Missouri Bar for 50 years. The recognition ceremonies took place during the Opening Luncheon of the 132nd Annual Meeting of The Missouri Bar held on Thursday, September 19, 2013, at the Holiday Inn Executive Center in Columbia.

Those recognized as “Senior Counselors” are as follows (listed alphabetically by city):
Affton – Stephen J. Murphy
Ballwin – Paul B. Hunker, Jr.
Blue Springs – Joyce B. Kerber; Frederick J. Wilkins
Brentwood – Hon. Harvey J. Schramm
Bridgeton – Herbert Wolkowitz
Butler – Harold L. Caskey
Carthage – John O. Phelps
Chesterfield – John J. Barnes, Jr.; Delores M. Berman
Clayton – Charles Lock; David P. McDonald; Carl L. Seltzer; Michael C. Walther
Columbia – James C. Martin; John B. Shewmaker
Fairway, KS – J. Neal Sawyer, Jr.  
Harrisonville – Charles E. Hight
Independence – Albert W.L. Moore, Jr
Innsbrook – Hon. William H. Crandall, Jr.
Joplin – James F. DeNeen; Hon. Jon A. Dermott; Hon. Don J. Killebrew; Malcolm L. Robertson 
Kansas City – William T. Bernard; Barton S. Blond; James R. Borthwick; Hon. Thomas C. Clark; John C. Craft; Donald A. Culp; Edward M. Dolson; Richard M. Enochs; John J. Hager; Hollis H. Hanover; William A. Jolley; Herbert M. Kohn; John E. Redmond; Hon. Victor M. Rocha; David A. Sawyer; Richard W. Scarritt; Myron E. Sildon; Thomas W. Van Dyke; Hon. Harold Dean Whipple
Ladue – Hon. Barbara A. Crancer
Leawood, KS – John F. Marvin
Lee’s Summit – George L. DeBittetto; William A. Lewis, Jr.; William M. Renfro, Jr.
Liberty – Hon. Michael J. Maloney
Marble Hill – Hon. Kenneth W. Shrum 
Mexico – Hon. C.S. Bond
North Kansas City – Sandra P. Ferguson
O’Fallon – Roy W. Strawn
Olathe, KS – Joseph N. Vader
Orrick – Don K. Pettus
Overland Park, KS – Donald F. Martin
Poplar Bluff – John R. Hopkins, Jr.; Clinton D. Summers
Rushville – Hon. Floyd R. Baber
Sedalia – James T. Buckley
Shawnee Mission, KS – David K. Richards
Sikeston – Jim S. Green; Hon. Anthony J. Heckemeyer.
St. Clair – Dupree P. Heard
St. Joseph – Rachel S. Caruthers; Wendell E. Koerner, Jr.
St. Louis – Fred E. Arnold; Francis L. Barkofske; Paul M. Denk; Paul L. Dobberstein, Jr.; J. Roger Edgar; John L. Gianoulakis; Lester H. Goldman; Maurice B. Graham; Frank N. Gundlach; Andrew Hardge; Robert T. Hart; Gary S. Heifetz; Francis H. Kennedy, Jr.; Jerome S. Kraus; William H. Leyhe, III; Walter L. Metcalfe, Jr.; Sandford J. Miller; Hon. Seneca H. Nolan, Jr.; Richard A. Roth; Ivan I. Schenberg; Norman A. Selner; Richard S. Snyder; Murray Stone; Harry F. Swanger; William E. Taylor; Carl A. Wattenberg, Jr.; Harold L. Whitfield; Hon. Melvyn W. Wiesman; James L. Wilson; Walter L. Wittenberg
Ste. Genevieve – Lillian P. Clark
Town & Country – Charles R. Abele; Stanley N. Garber; Paul W. Kopsky; Jerome Wallach
Versailles – Hon. James A. Grantham
Warrenton – Darryl L. Hicks
Warson Woods – David L. Pentland
Wildwood – Edwin P. McKaskel
Wichita, KS – William S. Churchill, II

For individual photos of those in attendance at the luncheon appearing with Chief Justice Mary Russell of the Supreme Court of Missouri and 2012-13 Missouri Bar President Pat Starke, please visit

The Missouri Bar is a statewide organization dedicated to improving the legal profession, the law and the administration of justice for all Missourians. Created in 1944 by order of the Supreme Court of Missouri, it serves all 30,000 of Missouri’s practicing attorneys. To achieve its mission, The Missouri Bar provides a wide range of services and resources to its members, as well as the media, educators and the citizens of Missouri. 

MoBar Quick Info

Organization and Purpose: The Missouri Bar is the statewide organization that all Missouri lawyers must belong to if they practice law. The Missouri Bar was created in 1944 by order of the Supreme Court of Missouri. It is considered an instrumentality of the state, not a private association nor a state agency. Its mission is to improve the legal profession, the administration of justice, and law on behalf of the public.

Member Size: Currently, the bar is comprised of about 32,000 members.

Staff Size: The executive director, Sebrina Barrett, supervises a staff of 50 employees. Click here to see a Staff Directory

Budget: Approximately $10 million. No tax dollars are used to support Missouri Bar activities. Most money is derived from dues that lawyers pay; some is derived from CLE programs and publications, grants and The Bar Foundation.

Governance: The Board of Governors of The Missouri Bar determines policies and sets the course of action for the state bar to follow. The 45 members of the Board are elected by bar members. The Board elects a president, president-elect and vice president to serve as officers of the bar.

Sections and Committees: The Missouri Bar offers more than 50 substantive law committees for its members to join. It also has two sections: a Family Law Section, and the Young Lawyers' Section.

Location: The Missouri Bar Center is located in Jefferson City, at 326 Monroe St.

Missouri Bar Resources and Activities: The Missouri Bar provides a wide variety of services and resources, not only to its members, but also to the news media, school teachers and the citizens of Missouri. These include: CLE programs and publications, an Annual Meeting, a Solo and Small Firm Conference, teachers’ programs, committee meetings and extensive services for attorneys. The bar also administers a minimum continuing legal education requirement for attorneys.