Related Navigation

News Blog

May 18, 2017

Interested in serving on the Board of Governors? Start here.

Board of Governors 2017

Serving on The Missouri Bar’s Board of Governors is a great way to get directly involved in the policy-making decisions of the organization. Board members are elected by fellow lawyers, and they represent their respective district for two years, beginning at the Annual Meeting.

The composition of the Board of Governors is defined in Supreme Court Rule 7.03 and provides for 45 members to serve on the board. Forty are elected to represent Districts 1-15. Three are elected (one from each appellate court district) to represent diverse elements of the bar, such as age, race, gender, sexual orientation, disability and geography, as well as areas and types of practice. The final two members include the immediate past president and a representative of the Young Lawyers' Section of the bar. The board meets several times a year to conduct the business of The Missouri Bar and keep abreast of issues. Occasionally, special meetings may be called to address timely concerns.

If you are interested in joining the Board of Governors, the first step is to complete and submit a nomination petition by July 3. This year, 21 seats will be up for election in the following districts (click on each district number to view the accompanying district map): 

  • District 1:  Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Chariton, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Putnam, Sullivan and Worth counties (one seat)
  • District 3:  Bates, Carroll, Cass, Cooper, Henry, Johnson, Lafayette, Pettis, Ray, St. Clair and Saline counties  (one seat)
  • District 4: Cole County (one seat)
  • District 5:  Barry, Barton, Cedar, Dade, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Stone and Vernon counties (one seat)
  • District 6:  Benton, Camden, Christian, Dallas, Douglas, Hickory, Laclede, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Ozark, Polk, Taney, Webster and Wright counties (one seat)
  • District 7Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Dunklin, Jefferson, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Perry, Ripley, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Scott, Stoddard and Washington  (one seat)
  • District 8: Jackson (excluding Kansas City), Clay and Platte counties  (one seat)
  • District 9: St. Louis County (three seats)
  • District 10: Greene County (one seat)
  • District 11: City of St. Louis (two seats)
  • District 12: City of Kansas City within Jackson County (four seats)
  • District 14: St. Charles County (one seat)
  • District 15: Boone and Callaway counties (one seat)
  • Southern District Appellate Court Diversity Seat (one seat)
  • Western District Appellate Court Diversity Seat (one seat)

The candidate(s) with the highest number of votes are elected to serve on the board.

To appear on the ballot, candidates must first submit a District or Appellate District Board petition signed by a minimum of 10 Missouri Bar members who are in good standing, enrolled and entitled to vote in the respective district. It's important to note that Missouri Bar members are entitled to vote in the district that corresponds with their primary work address, rather than their personal residence. Supreme Court Rule 7.07 provides for the nominations and election of district members of the Board of Governors. 

This year’s board elections will be conducted electronically. The Supreme Court of Missouri will send an email to all lawyers with an email address in the voter file that will include notice of the elections, dates open for voting, the names and offices of all qualified candidates and the link to cast an electronic ballot.